Sycamore Row – John Grisham (Jake Brigance Series Book 2)

In this blog post, I am going to explain the book Sycamore Row – John Grisham.

“Sycamore Row” is the second novel in the Jake Brigance series by John Grisham. The story takes place three years after the events of the first book, “A Time to Kill,” and once again follows the life of Jake Brigance, a small-town lawyer in Clanton, Mississippi.

The plot of the novel revolves around the contested will of Seth Hubbard, a wealthy man who has recently committed suicide. Hubbard’s family and potential heirs are shocked to learn that he has left almost all of his sizable estate to his black housekeeper, Lettie Lang.

As the legal battle over Hubbard’s will unfolds, Brigance finds himself representing Lang and defending her right to inherit the estate. Along the way, he must navigate the complex racial dynamics of the town, which has changed little since the events of the first book.

The novel not only explores the legal issues surrounding the will, but also delves into the backstory of Seth Hubbard and his family. Through a series of flashbacks, the reader learns about Hubbard’s troubled past, including his involvement in the brutal murder of a black man several decades earlier. As the true motives behind Hubbard’s decision to leave his estate to Lettie Lang are gradually revealed, Brigance and his team race against time to ensure that justice is served.

“Sycamore Row” is a compelling and suspenseful legal drama that deals with themes of race, class, and justice. John Grisham once again demonstrates his mastery of the legal thriller genre, weaving together complex legal proceedings with vivid characterizations and a nuanced understanding of the social and political climate of the American South.

The novel’s characters are well-drawn and believable, and the interplay between them adds depth and complexity to the story. The relationship between Jake Brigance and his legal assistant, Ellen Roark, is particularly well-developed, and their dynamic adds a touch of humor and lightheartedness to an otherwise weighty plot.

Grisham’s use of flashbacks is also a notable feature of the novel, as it allows the reader to gain insight into the motivations and history of the various characters. The flashbacks are seamlessly integrated into the main narrative, and provide an effective means of adding depth and complexity to the story.

Overall, “Sycamore Row” is an interesting and compelling book that fans of John Grisham and legal thrillers will enjoy. With its well-drawn characters, complex plot, and thought-provoking themes, it is a worthy successor to “A Time to Kill” and a testament to Grisham’s skill as a storyteller.


Also, check out these book sections!

Genre of Sycamore Row – John Grisham – Jake Brigance series Book 2

The genre of John Grisham’s “Sycamore Row” is legal thriller. The story is primarily focused on the legal battle that ensues after the wealthy businessman Seth Hubbard changes his will just before his death, and the ensuing courtroom drama as Jake Brigance represents the interests of the key beneficiary of the will. The novel is full of suspense, twists and turns, and dramatic courtroom scenes, which are hallmarks of the legal thriller genre.

Fiction, Jake Brigance Books In Order, Jake Brigance Series, John Grisham Books In Order, Legal Thrillers, Thrillers, Sycamore Row - John Grisham (Jake Brigance Series Book 2)

The book, Sycamore Row is considered one of John Grisham’s masterpieces.

How to get free Sycamore Row – John Grisham?

Start an Audible Premium Plus 30-day trial to get Sycamore Row – John Grisham for free. Just SIGN UP & SUBSCRIBE from my LINK and enjoy your FREE copy of Sycamore Row now!

READ ALSO: John Grisham Books In Order

What are the Sycamore Row Characters?

Here are some of the key characters in “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham:

  1. Jake Brigance – A lawyer who is again at the center of the story, this time representing the interests of Seth Hubbard’s will.
  2. Seth Hubbard – A wealthy businessman who is dying of lung cancer, and whose will forms the basis of the story.
  3. Lettie Lang – Hubbard’s black housekeeper and the key beneficiary of his will.
  4. Harry Rex Vonner – Jake’s friend and a colorful lawyer who helps him navigate the case.
  5. Boxx – A businessman who works with Hubbard and is one of the main beneficiaries of his previous will.
  6. Dr. Bass – Hubbard’s doctor who is called to testify about his mental state at the time of the will’s writing.
  7. Portia – Hubbard’s estranged daughter who is unhappy with the will and the distribution of her father’s assets.
  8. Herschel – Seth’s violent and abusive son who is also unhappy with the will.
  9. Buckley – Jake’s friend and mentor, the judge who presides over the case.
  10. Judge Atlee – A retired judge who appears in the story through a series of letters that are revealed over time.

These characters, along with several others, form a rich and complex web of relationships and motivations that drive the plot of “Sycamore Row.”

Sycamore Row – John Grisham Read Time

If you choose to read “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham, it will take you approximately 9 and a half hours, but if you prefer the audiobook version, it can be completed in roughly 6 and a half hours. “Sycamore Row” is a great, well-written book that’s easy to understand and doesn’t take too long to read.

“Sycamore Row” is an excellent book to read over the weekend. If you’re someone who likes to recharge your batteries during the holidays, then you’ll find it particularly beneficial.

Also get: Colleen Hoover Books in Order

Sycamore Row – John Grisham – Details

About John Grisham

Bestsellers, Book Series, Book Series In Order, Books In Order, Colleen Hoover Books In Order, Contemporary Romance, New Adult Romance, Romantic Suspense, Thrillers, Women's Fiction

John Grisham is an American author and former lawyer, born on February 8, 1955, in Jonesboro, Arkansas. Grisham practiced law for nearly a decade before turning to writing, and his first novel, “A Time to Kill,” was published in 1989. Since then, he has written over 40 novels, many of which have become bestsellers.

Grisham has won many awards for his writing, including the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Thriller and the Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award. His net worth is estimated to be over $350 million.

Recap of what we just learned

  • Sycamore Row – John Grisham – Jake Brigance Series Book 2
  • Genre of Sycamore Row – John Grisham – Jake Brigance Series Book 2
  • How to get free Sycamore Row – John Grisham?
  • What are the Sycamore Row Characters?
  • Sycamore Row Read Time
  • Sycamore Row – John Grisham – Details
  • About John Grisham – A Short Biography


In conclusion, “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham is a legal thriller, a genre that the author has become famous for. The story is full of gripping suspense, dramatic courtroom scenes, and a rich cast of characters, all of which are hallmarks of the genre.

Grisham is a master of crafting compelling legal dramas that keep readers on the edge of their seats, and “Sycamore Row” is no exception. Whether you are a fan of the legal thriller genre or simply enjoy a well-crafted story with complex characters and engaging plot twists, “Sycamore Row” is definitely a book to add to your reading list.

Please consider sharing “Sycamore Row – John Grisham” with your friends and on social media platforms like Twitter, Reddit, Instagram, or Facebook if you enjoyed it. Your support in spreading the word would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!


Read More

Have you read “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham during your travels? Which other books are you currently reading, and how do they compare to “Sycamore Row”? If you enjoyed “Sycamore Row,” I recommend exploring similar books within the same genre.