The Things We Cannot Say – Kelly Rimmer

An intense story of survival, hardship, and heartbreak, The Things We Cannot Say is sure to evoke emotion in even the most cynical reader.

Kelly Rimmer (Before I Let You Go) gives every story line the room to develop organically, resulting in concluding chapters which tie the two women’s stories together in a very moving manner. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale (2015) and Pam Jenoff’s The Orphan’s Tale (2017) will delight in this absorbing, psychological tale of love, heartbreak, and resilience.

Kelly Rimmer has raised the already large bar with this unforgettable novel. It is that rare author that takes the reader so deeply into a universe which you smell the smells, feel the appetite, see the devastation, and the lengths we will visit for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to writer.

The writer of this book “The Things We Cannot Say” is Kelly Rimmer.

Image Source: The Things We Cannot Say

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of this Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her marriage vows. It’s a decision that will change her fate, and it is a lie that will remain buried until the following century.

Ever since she Was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her very best buddy, Tomasz. Now 15 and participated, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers in the border, believing her neighbors whom they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of their day Tomasz yields from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, havoc by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its households, are divided by fear and hate. Then, since the fabric of the own lives is gradually picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina was able to measure time between visits from her beloved, now, she steps the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers that patrol her parents’ farm. However, for now, even deafening silence is better than grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic Pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer produces a psychological and finely wrought narrative. The Things we can’t Say is a unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced. . .and the way that it could have a lifetime to find our voice until we learn to anticipate it.

ISBN-13:9781525823565
Publisher:Graydon House Books
Publication date:03/19/2019
Edition description:Original
Pages:432
Sales rank:4,180
Product dimensions:5.80(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.30(d)
Source: The Things We Cannot Say

If you really enjoyed this book “The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer” , I will be very thankful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Facebook, Twitter or and LinkedIn. Thank you!

Did you read The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer? on the way? Which one you are reading—and how it is similar to one of these?

If you really like this book review, you may check some of the following books. I hope you would love them all.

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *